The bottom line
The software fee is usually the smaller cost. Postage is the bigger one, and every platform below gives you discounted USPS prices, including the free ones. Pay for software when you need what free plans skip: importing orders from several sales channels, automation rules, more users or warehouses.
What each platform costs a month
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
| Platform | 50 labels/mo | 500 labels/mo | 2,000 labels/mo | Carriers | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pirate Ship ↗Visit Pirate Ship | Free | Free | Free | USPS, UPS | Visit Pirate Ship |
| ShipStation ↗Each plan publishes set shipment tiers (Starter: 50, 100, 500, 1,000, 2,000 and 5,000 a month). We show a cost only where a published tier matches the volume.Visit ShipStation | $14.99 | $39.99 | $119.99 | USPS, UPS, FedEx | Visit ShipStation |
| Shippo ↗Visit Shippo | $19.00 | $29.00 | $79.00 | USPS, UPS, FedEx, DHL Express | Visit Shippo |
| Easyship ↗Visit Easyship | Free | $29.00 | $69.00 | 550+ courier services (not enumerated on the plans page) | Visit Easyship |
| Stamps.com ↗Only the Basic plan states a label count (10); Professional and Multi-Location limits are not published.Visit Stamps.com | Not published for these volumes | USPS, UPS, FedEx | Visit Stamps.com | ||
| PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes) ↗Free plan adds 5% to every label (per their page); paid plan label limits not published.Visit PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes) | Not published for these volumes | USPS, FedEx, UPS, DHL (bring your own account) | Visit PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes) | ||
| ShippingEasy ↗Tiers above 200 shipments are not published in the page text.Visit ShippingEasy | Not published for these volumes | USPS, UPS | Visit ShippingEasy | ||
| Veeqo ↗Visit Veeqo | Free | Free | Free | Amazon Shipping, UPS, USPS, FedEx, DHL, OnTrac | Visit Veeqo |
Prices checked Oct 22 to 29, 2026 on each platform's own page (↗ opens it). Subscription cost only, using the cheapest published plan that covers the volume. Postage is extra and depends on the carrier, weight and distance. "Not published" means the platform's page text gives no price for that volume (some show one only in a slider or through sales), so we don't show a number we can't source.
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
Our pick, per label volume
For a store that ships Shopify orders, the cheapest platform that connects to Shopify at each volume, and the cheapest of all:
-
For 50 labels a month · must have a Shopify connection
Our pick
Easyship, Pirate Ship or Veeqo $0 a month
Free plan
Lowest cost, and it has a Shopify connection. Tied with Pirate Ship and Veeqo on cost and terms, so any of them is our pick.
Why not the others?
Can't confirm here (a must-have or the full price isn't published): Stamps.com, PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes), ShippingEasy.
-
For 500 labels a month or 2,000 labels a month · must have a Shopify connection
Our pick
Pirate Ship or Veeqo $0 a month
Free plan
Lowest cost, and it has a Shopify connection. Tied with Veeqo on cost and terms, so either is our pick.
Why not the others?
Can't confirm here (a must-have or the full price isn't published): Stamps.com, PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes), ShippingEasy.
How we picked
Software subscription a month at each volume, from each platform's own pricing page, cheapest plan that covers it. Postage is extra and isn't in these totals. Our pick is the lowest cost option that has every must-have; within 10% of it, no contract, faster payouts and longer support hours win. Payment from a provider never changes it. How we pick
Just starting: about 50 labels a month on Etsy or eBay
A new seller usually has no carrier account and no budget for a subscription, and often sells on Etsy or eBay rather than a Shopify store. The must-haves here: a $0 plan at your volume, no per-label fee, discounted USPS rates without your own carrier account, an Etsy connection and an eBay connection.
-
For just starting: about 50 labels a month · must have a $0 plan at your volume, no per-label fee, discounted USPS rates without your own carrier account, an Etsy connection, an eBay connection
Our pick
Easyship or Pirate Ship $0 a month
Free plan
Lowest cost, and it has a $0 plan at your volume, no per-label fee, discounted USPS rates without your own carrier account, an Etsy connection and an eBay connection. Tied with Pirate Ship on cost and terms, so either is our pick.
Why not the others?
Missing a must-have: 4 options miss: a $0 plan at your volume; PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes) (misses: a $0 plan at your volume and no per-label fee).
Can't confirm here (a must-have or the full price isn't published): Veeqo.
How we picked
Software subscription a month at each volume, from each platform's own pricing page, cheapest plan that covers it. Postage is extra and isn't in these totals. Our pick is the lowest cost option that has every must-have; within 10% of it, no contract, faster payouts and longer support hours win. Payment from a provider never changes it. How we pick
Platform by platform
- Pirate Ship: free, with no subscription and no label cap, for USPS and UPS.
- Veeqo: its Shipping plan is free; it describes itself as “an Amazon company”. Inventory features cost from $19 a month and High Volume from $350.
- Shippo: free for up to 30 labels a month. Pro is $19 a month for up to 200 labels ($17 a month if paid yearly), $29 for up to 500, $54 for up to 1,000, $79 for up to 2,500, $139 for up to 5,000 and $199 for up to 10,000.
- Easyship: free for up to 50 labels a month, then Plus at 29 a month (500), Premier at 69 (2,500) and Scale at 99 (5,000). Easyship’s plans page shows dollar amounts without naming the currency.
- ShipStation: Starter from $14.99 a month for 50 shipments up to $174.99 for 5,000. Standard from $29.99, Premium from $349.99.
- ShippingEasy: free for up to 25 shipments a month; Growth is $19.99 for 26 to 200. Larger tiers aren’t published as text.
- Stamps.com: Basic $14.99 a month for 10 labels, Professional from $29.99, Multi-Location from $49.99.
- PitneyShip: the free plan adds 5% to every label, per its own page, so it isn’t free once you ship. Premium is $34.99 a month.
With your own UPS or FedEx account: the full monthly cost
Once you negotiate your own carrier rates, some platforms charge for each label printed on that account, and the free plans may not allow it at all. The real software cost is the subscription plus those fees:
| Platform | 50 labels | 500 labels | 2,000 labels |
|---|---|---|---|
| ShipStation ↗ | $14.99Starter, up to 50, no label fee | $39.99Starter, up to 500, no label fee | $119.99Starter, up to 2,000, no label fee |
| Shippo ↗ | $19Pro (1-200 labels), no label fee | $29Pro (201-500 labels), no label fee | $79Pro (1,001-2,500 labels), no label fee |
| Easyship ↗ | $31.50Plus + $2.50 in label fees | $54Plus + $25 in label fees | $149Premier + $80 in label fees |
| PitneyShip (Pitney Bowes) ↗ | Your own UPS or FedEx account on Enterprise only, priced by quote | ||
| ShippingEasy ↗ | A monthly fee by plan, amount not published | ||
Pirate Ship, Stamps.com, Veeqo: their pricing pages don't state a fee for using your own carrier account either way.
ShipStation alternatives
If ShipStation’s fee is the problem, each of these has a free plan. Here is what each costs at 500 labels a month, where ShipStation is $39.99, lowest first:
- Pirate Ship: $0 a month (free plan, no cap stated). Fits one store shipping USPS and UPS.
- Veeqo: $0 a month (free plan, no cap stated). Fits Amazon sellers (Veeqo is an Amazon company).
- Shippo: $29 a month (free up to 30 a month). Fits FedEx or DHL Express at low volume.
- Easyship: $29 a month (free up to 50 a month). Fits a wide choice of couriers.
- ShippingEasy: price at this volume not published (free up to 25 a month). Fits USPS and UPS at low volume.
What you give up by leaving: ShipStation includes unlimited store connections, 3 users and LTL freight quotes from its first plan. Check that the cheaper tool connects to every place you sell before you switch. See every ShipStation plan and fee, or the three most used side by side just below.
ShipStation vs Shippo vs Pirate Ship
- One store, USPS or UPS, any volume: Pirate Ship. No monthly fee and no label cap stated. Its integrations page lists 15 ways to import orders, including Shopify, Etsy, eBay and spreadsheets.
- You want FedEx or DHL Express, or 30 labels a month or fewer: Shippo. Free up to 30 labels, then $19 a month for up to 200.
- Several sales channels, a team, or automation rules: ShipStation. From $14.99 a month for 50 shipments, with 3 users on Starter and unlimited store connections on every plan.
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
Software, 50 labels a month
- Pirate Ship
- Free
- Shippo
- $19
- ShipStation
- $14.99
Software, 200 labels a month
- Pirate Ship
- Free
- Shippo
- $19
- ShipStation
- $39.99
Software, 500 labels a month
- Pirate Ship
- Free
- Shippo
- $29
- ShipStation
- $39.99
Software, 2,000 labels a month
- Pirate Ship
- Free
- Shippo
- $79
- ShipStation
- $119.99
Free option
- Pirate Ship
- Free, no plan or label cap stated
- Shippo
- Free up to 30 labels a month
- ShipStation
- No free plan on its pricing page. Free trial: 30 days, no credit card required.
Paying yearly (lowest tier)
- Pirate Ship
- No plan to pay for
- Shippo
- $205 a year for 200 labels ($23 less than monthly)
- ShipStation
- $143.90 a year for 50 shipments (20% less than monthly)
Platform fee per label
- Pirate Ship
- $0
- Shippo
- $0 on Shippo rates
- ShipStation
- $0
Carriers named
- Pirate Ship
- USPS, UPS
- Shippo
- USPS, UPS, FedEx, DHL Express
- ShipStation
- USPS, UPS, FedEx
Store connections
- Pirate Ship
- 15 integrations listed (Shopify, Etsy, eBay and more); Amazon and Walmart not listed
- Shippo
- Unlimited on every plan
- ShipStation
- Unlimited on every plan
Your own carrier account
- Pirate Ship
- Not stated
- Shippo
- 5¢ a label on the free Starter plan; free on Pro and Premier.
- ShipStation
- Listed from Standard up. No fee on plans that started on or after July 8, 2025. Older plans may pay one.
Users
- Pirate Ship
- Not published
- Shippo
- 1 (Starter), 5 (Pro), 15+ (Premier)
- ShipStation
- 3 (Starter), 10 (Standard), 15 (Premium)
Over the label limit
- Pirate Ship
- No limit stated
- Shippo
- $0.08 per extra label over 10,000
- ShipStation
- Moved up to a bigger tier, prorated
| Feature | Pirate Ship | Shippo | ShipStation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Software, 50 labels a month | Free | $19 | $14.99 |
| Software, 200 labels a month | Free | $19 | $39.99 |
| Software, 500 labels a month | Free | $29 | $39.99 |
| Software, 2,000 labels a month | Free | $79 | $119.99 |
| Free option | Free, no plan or label cap stated | Free up to 30 labels a month | No free plan on its pricing page. Free trial: 30 days, no credit card required. |
| Paying yearly (lowest tier) | No plan to pay for | $205 a year for 200 labels ($23 less than monthly) | $143.90 a year for 50 shipments (20% less than monthly) |
| Platform fee per label | $0 | $0 on Shippo rates | $0 |
| Carriers named | USPS, UPS | USPS, UPS, FedEx, DHL Express | USPS, UPS, FedEx |
| Store connections | 15 integrations listed (Shopify, Etsy, eBay and more); Amazon and Walmart not listed | Unlimited on every plan | Unlimited on every plan |
| Your own carrier account | Not stated | 5¢ a label on the free Starter plan; free on Pro and Premier. | Listed from Standard up. No fee on plans that started on or after July 8, 2025. Older plans may pay one. |
| Users | Not published | 1 (Starter), 5 (Pro), 15+ (Premier) | 3 (Starter), 10 (Standard), 15 (Premium) |
| Over the label limit | No limit stated | $0.08 per extra label over 10,000 | Moved up to a bigger tier, prorated |
| Visit | Visit Pirate Ship | Visit Shippo | Visit ShipStation |
We may earn a fee if you sign up with some providers in this table. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend.
ShipStation vs Shippo
Shippo costs less at most volumes. On monthly billing, at 200, 500, 2,000 labels a month Shippo is $19, $29, $79 and ShipStation is $39.99, $39.99, $119.99. Under 50 labels, ShipStation’s $14.99 plan is cheaper than Shippo Pro, but Shippo’s free plan covers you up to 30.
ShipStation gives more for the money on workflow: LTL freight quotes beside parcels, unlimited automation rules from Standard up, and inventory and warehouse tools on its top plan. Shippo includes FedEx and DHL Express on its free plan and charges 5¢ a label on the free Starter plan if you bring your own carrier account. Paying yearly saves 20% at ShipStation and about 10% at Shippo.
ShipStation vs Pirate Ship
Pirate Ship is free; ShipStation is not. Neither charges a fee per label, so the software fee is the whole difference before postage. Pirate Ship has no referral program, so it never pays us.
Pay for ShipStation when you need what Pirate Ship doesn’t list: FedEx, LTL freight, or a sales channel Pirate Ship doesn’t connect to. Pirate Ship’s integrations page doesn’t list Amazon or Walmart, for example. If you sell on those, check ShipStation’s integration list before you pay.
Shippo vs Pirate Ship
Both are free to start. Pirate Ship stays free at any volume; Shippo’s free plan stops at 30 labels a month. Choose Shippo for FedEx or DHL Express, and Pirate Ship for USPS and UPS at no cost.
How to choose
- Count your labels a month and find the cheapest plan that covers them in the table above.
- Check your carriers. Pirate Ship covers USPS and UPS only; Shippo, ShipStation, Stamps.com and Veeqo add FedEx.
- Check your sales channels. If you sell on several marketplaces, make sure the plan imports orders from all of them before you pay.
- Compare postage, not just the fee. Use the cheapest way to ship for your typical package, and see what discounted labels really save.
Get told when these prices change
Providers change fees with little notice. Alerts start soon, and we'll send nothing else.
Common questions
What is the best shipping software for a small business?
It depends on volume and how many places you sell. Under about 50 labels a month from one store, a free plan usually covers it: Pirate Ship and Veeqo have no subscription, and Easyship's free plan covers up to 50 labels. If you sell on several channels and want automation, paid plans like Shippo Pro (from $19 a month) or ShipStation (from $14.99 a month for 50 shipments) add order imports and rules.
How much does ShipStation cost?
ShipStation's Starter plan is $14.99 a month for 50 shipments, rising to $174.99 a month at 5,000 shipments. Standard starts at $29.99 and Premium at $349.99. In between, its page lists set tiers, such as $39.99 for 500 and $119.99 for 2,000. Paying yearly saves 20%, according to ShipStation.
Is Shippo free?
Shippo's Starter plan is free for up to 30 labels a month. Pro costs $19 a month for up to 200 labels, or $205 a year ($17 a month) paid annually, and rises with volume, to $199 a month for 5,001 to 10,000 labels.
What is the cheapest alternative to ShipStation?
Pirate Ship and Veeqo's Shipping plan both have no monthly fee. Pirate Ship covers USPS and UPS; Veeqo is an Amazon company and adds FedEx, DHL and Amazon Shipping. If you need FedEx on a free plan at low volume, Shippo is free up to 30 labels a month. ShipStation starts at $14.99 a month for 50 shipments.
Do I pay for postage on top of the software?
Yes. The subscription is for the software. Postage is charged per label at the platform's discounted carrier rates, and it's usually the bigger cost. Compare postage in our cheapest way to ship calculator.
Is Pirate Ship cheaper than ShipStation?
On software, yes. Pirate Ship has no monthly fee, while ShipStation costs $14.99 a month for 50 shipments and $39.99 for 500. Both charge no fee per label, so postage is a separate question: compare it for your own parcel. Pirate Ship covers USPS and UPS only.
Is Shippo cheaper than ShipStation?
At most volumes. Shippo is free up to 30 labels and $19 a month for up to 200; ShipStation is $14.99 for 50 and $29.99 for 100. At 500 labels Shippo is $29 against ShipStation's $39.99, and at 2,000 it is $79 against $119.99, on monthly billing.
Is Shippo cheaper than Pirate Ship?
Not on software. Pirate Ship has no monthly fee at any volume, while Shippo is free only up to 30 labels a month, then $19 a month for up to 200. Shippo is the one to pick if you need FedEx or DHL Express, which Pirate Ship doesn't offer.
What are the best Shippo alternatives?
Pirate Ship if you ship USPS or UPS: free, with no label cap stated. Veeqo if you sell on Amazon: its Shipping plan is free. Easyship if you want many couriers: free up to 50 labels a month. ShipStation if you sell on several channels and want automation: from $14.99 a month for 50 shipments.
Does Pirate Ship support FedEx?
Not as of our check. Pirate Ship's rates menu lists USPS and UPS services only. Shippo and ShipStation both name FedEx, and Shippo also names DHL Express.
Can I use more than one person on each?
ShipStation includes 3 users on Starter, 10 on Standard and 15 on Premium. Shippo includes 1 user on its free plan, up to 5 on Pro and 15 or more on Premier. We found no user limit on Pirate Ship's homepage or integrations page.