Skip to content
Honest Fees

ADP payroll pricing: what you'll really pay

ADP quotes RUN payroll business by business. Here is what sets that quote, ADP's one public price, and the prices to hold it against.

Updated Oct 20 · Ian Chang · We may earn a fee i

Updated October 20, 2026 How we check prices Published by Ian Chang We may earn a fee from some providers. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend. How we rank

The short answer

  • RUN Powered by ADP: no published price on any of its 4 packages. Every one says “Get pricing”.
  • What sets the quote: how often you run payroll, how many people you pay, how often you add or remove people, and add-ons (ADP’s own list).
  • ADP’s one public price: Roll by ADP, $39 a month + $5 per employee.

Promotion, not the regular price: Up to 6 free months, applied to months 4, 5, 6, 13, 14 and 15. Who: New RUN clients who sign and start payroll by Nov 26, 2026 and keep running payroll for 3 months in a row. Essential Payroll clients who sign up online on their own get 3 free months. Ends: Nov 26, 2026. After: Your quoted price (ADP publishes none). Offer terms

Why ADP won’t show you a price

ADP sells RUN Powered by ADP, its payroll for businesses with 1 to 49 employees, in four packages: Essential Payroll, Enhanced Payroll, Complete Payroll & HR Plus, HR Pro Payroll & HR. Each one has a “Get pricing” button instead of a price. ADP’s package page explains what moves the number:

  • How often you run payroll. ADP says “payroll fees increase with frequency”, and extra off-schedule runs cost more too. Gusto, OnPay, Roll by ADP, SurePayroll, Square Payroll and Patriot Payroll all state unlimited runs.
  • How many people you pay, and how often you add or remove them.
  • Add-ons such as HR support tools.
  • Year-end forms. ADP lists W-2 and 1099 forms with the note “(additional fee)”.
  • Contractors. RUN has a contractor bundle with “a monthly base price, plus a per-contractor fee”, and year-end fees apply.

On the plus side, ADP says RUN needs no contract, can be ended at any time, and comes with 24/7 phone and chat support.

How ADP's free months work

ADP's current offer gives up to six free months to businesses that sign and start payroll by Nov 26, 2026. The free months are not the first six. They are months 4, 5 and 6, then 13, 14 and 15, and you must keep running payroll for three months in a row first. Businesses that sign up for Essential Payroll online on their own get three free months instead of six. The offer doesn't cover pass-through costs, delivery fees or off-cycle fees.

What this means: you pay full price for the first three months, and to collect the second three free months you need to stay past a year. Judge the quote on its regular price, and treat the free months as a bonus.

Roll by ADP: the price ADP does publish

Roll by ADP at its regular price
People paid
Plan 1510
Roll $39 a month + $5 per employee States: Any number $44$64$89

Promotion, not the regular price: 3 months free. Who: US businesses that have never used Roll by ADP. Cancel during the trial and you lose the rest of it. Ends: no end date published. After: The regular price above. Offer terms

Monthly cost at the regular price, one state, employees only. From Roll by ADP's pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026.

Roll is ADP’s self-serve app. You run payroll by chatting with it on your phone. It pays employees and contractors at the same $5 per person, includes payroll in all 50 states and time tracking, and lists “Tipped wage support, including cash and charged tips”. Support is chat, 24/7.

Pick Roll if you want ADP’s tax filing at a known price and are happy working in an app. Ask for a RUN quote if you want HR packages or 24/7 phone support as well as chat.

Roll by ADP: the terms beside the price

Visit Roll by ADP
Contract
No long-term contract source
Cost to cancel
Not stated on its pricing page
Setup fee
Not stated on its pricing page
Minimums
Not stated on its pricing page
Extra payroll runs
No extra charge source
Direct deposit speed
Not stated on its pricing page
Support
Chat, 24/7 source

Published prices to hold a quote against

Before you take ADP’s call, know what the same team costs where the price is public. These are the three cheapest services that publish a full price and file your taxes, for 5 employees in one state, at regular prices:

Cheapest published prices for 5 employees, one state

  1. 1.Patriot Payroll Full Service Payroll $62/mo$744 a year
  2. 2.Square Payroll Full-service payroll $65/mo$780 a year
  3. 3.Wave Payroll Wave Payroll (US) $70/mo$840 a year

A RUN quote below these is worth a look. Above them, ask ADP what you get for the difference. Price your exact team in the payroll cost calculator.

What to ask for in an ADP quote

  1. The monthly price at your exact pay frequency (weekly costs more than monthly at ADP).
  2. The per-person fee, and what happens when you add or remove someone.
  3. The year-end W-2 and 1099 fee, per form and any base charge.
  4. Any setup, delivery or off-cycle run fees.
  5. The price after any free months end.

RUN Powered by ADP: the terms beside the price

Visit RUN Powered by ADP
Contract
No contract source
Cost to cancel
Not stated on its pricing page
Setup fee
Not stated on its pricing page
Minimums
Not stated on its pricing page
Extra payroll runs
Extra cost source
Direct deposit speed
Not stated on its pricing page
Support
24/7 phone and chat source

Compare with Gusto pricing, QuickBooks Payroll pricing or every payroll service.

Get told when Roll by ADP's fees change

Providers change fees with little notice. Alerts start soon, and we'll send nothing else.

Email me when a price on this page changes. From Honest Fees (SyncSpark Solutions Inc., hello@honestfees.ca). I can unsubscribe any time. Never sold. Privacy.

Common questions

How much does ADP payroll cost?

ADP doesn't publish a price for RUN Powered by ADP, its payroll for 1 to 49 employees. You get a quote, which ADP says depends on how often you run payroll, how many people you pay, how often you add or remove people, and any add-ons. ADP's one published price is Roll by ADP: $39 a month plus $5 per worker.

Does ADP charge extra for W-2s and 1099s?

Yes. ADP's RUN package page says it creates and delivers W-2 and 1099 forms for an additional fee, and can e-file them with the IRS. The amount is not published, so ask for it in your quote and add it to the yearly cost.

Does ADP require a contract?

Not for RUN. ADP says you don't have to sign a contract and can end service at any time. If you sign up under a free-months offer, check which months are free, because leaving early means losing the free months you haven't reached yet.

What is Roll by ADP?

It is ADP's self-serve payroll app, run through chat on your phone. It costs $39 a month plus $5 per employee or contractor paid that month, with unlimited payroll runs, payroll in all 50 states and no long-term contract.