Skip to content
Honest Fees

QuickBooks Payroll pricing: the price after the discount ends

Intuit leads with a 3-month discount and accounting bundles. Here is what QuickBooks payroll costs on its own at the regular price, and the fee it doesn't publish.

Updated Oct 20 · Ian Chang · We may earn a fee i

Updated October 20, 2026 How we check prices Published by Ian Chang We may earn a fee from some providers. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend. How we rank

The short answer, at regular prices

  • Workforce Payroll: $50 a month + $7 per employee
  • Workforce Premium: $88 a month + $13 per employee
  • Workforce Elite: $134 a month + $17 per employee
  • Plus a state tax filing fee Intuit does not publish.

Promotion, not the regular price: 50% off the monthly base price for the first 3 months (or a 30-day free trial instead). Who: New QuickBooks Workforce subscriptions. Per-employee, per-contractor and state tax filing fees are not discounted. Ends: no end date published. After: The regular price above ("the then-current price"). Offer terms

Intuit now sells QuickBooks payroll as QuickBooks Workforce, with new plan names.

What QuickBooks payroll costs at 1, 5 and 10 people

QuickBooks Workforce payroll-only plans at the regular price
People paid
Plan 1510
Workforce Payroll $50 a month + $7 per employee States: Not stated $57$85$120
Workforce Premium $88 a month + $13 per employee States: Not stated $101$153$218
Workforce Elite $134 a month + $17 per employee States: Not stated $151$219$304

Monthly cost at the regular price, one state, employees only. From QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce)'s pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026.

For 5 employees, Workforce Payroll is $85 a month at the regular price. Gusto’s Simple plan is $79 for the same team, in one state. Neither figure includes QuickBooks’ state tax filing fee, which Intuit’s own offer terms mention but its pricing pages don’t price.

The fee Intuit doesn’t publish

Intuit’s discount terms say the discount “does not apply to per-employee fees, per-contractor fees or state tax filing fees for QuickBooks Workforce”. So a state tax filing fee exists, but none of the pricing pages we read gives an amount. Ask for it in writing before you sign, and add it to the monthly price when you compare.

Payroll alone vs payroll with accounting

Intuit’s main payroll pricing page leads with bundles that include QuickBooks Online accounting. Payroll-only prices are on a separate page. If you already pay for QuickBooks Online, or don’t need it, compare them this way:

PlanBase feePer employeeBase fee vs payroll alone
Workforce Payroll alone$50$7
Workforce Payroll + Simple Start$88$7+$38 a month
Workforce Payroll + Essentials$135$7+$85 a month
Workforce Premium alone$88$13
Workforce Premium + Plus$228$13+$140 a month

The per-employee fee is the same either way; the bundle adds to the base fee only.

Which plan you need

  • Workforce Payroll pays your team, files payroll taxes and includes next-day direct deposit.
  • Workforce Premium adds time tracking and same-day direct deposit, plus an expert setup review.
  • Workforce Elite adds tax penalty protection and has Intuit set up payroll for you. Benefits administration is listed on Premium and Elite at extra cost, sold separately and only to businesses with 20 or more employees.

Intuit’s pages don’t say whether more than one state costs extra on any plan, or how contractors paid inside a Workforce plan are billed. If either applies to you, ask.

Paying contractors only

QuickBooks Contractor Payments, by number of contractors paid
Contractors paid
Plan 52030
Contractor Payments $25 a month (includes 20 contractors) + $2 per contractor $25$25$45

Monthly cost at the regular price, contractors only. From QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce)'s pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026.

With 20 contractors included in the base fee, this is the cheapest paid contractor-only option in our comparison once you pay 5 or more contractors a month. Below that, Square Payroll’s contractor plan (no base fee + $6 per contractor) costs less.

Other QuickBooks payroll fees

Fees Intuit lists beyond the plan price
ExtraWhat it costs
State tax filing feesNot published source
Background check (Checkr)$29.99 per report (starting price) source
Printed/mailed 1099 copiesNot published source

QuickBooks Workforce: the terms beside the price

Visit QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce)
Contract
Monthly, no annual contract source
Cost to cancel
None source
Setup fee
Not stated on its pricing page
Minimums
Not stated on its pricing page
Extra payroll runs
Not stated on its pricing page
Direct deposit speed
Next-day on Workforce Payroll; same-day on Premium and Elite source
Support
Phone and chat in business hours (hours not stated); weekend phone and chat on Premium and Elite only source

Who QuickBooks payroll suits, and who should skip it

A good fit if you already keep your books in QuickBooks Online and want payroll to post there without an extra app, or you pay contractors only and fit under the included contractor count.

Look elsewhere if you don’t use QuickBooks and want the lowest price: for most small teams, Patriot Payroll, Roll by ADP and Square Payroll cost less at their regular prices, and they publish their state fees or include them. See them all in the payroll cost calculator.

Compare with Gusto pricing, ADP payroll pricing or every payroll service.

Get told when QuickBooks Payroll's fees change

Providers change fees with little notice. Alerts start soon, and we'll send nothing else.

Email me when a price on this page changes. From Honest Fees (SyncSpark Solutions Inc., hello@honestfees.ca). I can unsubscribe any time. Never sold. Privacy.

Common questions

How much is QuickBooks Payroll per month?

At regular prices, QuickBooks Workforce Payroll is $50 a month plus $7 per employee, Workforce Premium is $88 plus $13 and Workforce Elite is $134 plus $17. New subscribers can get 50% off the base fee for the first 3 months. Per-employee fees are not discounted, and a state tax filing fee applies whose amount Intuit does not publish.

What is QuickBooks Workforce?

It is the name Intuit now sells its QuickBooks payroll under. The plans on its payroll pricing pages are Workforce Payroll, Workforce Premium and Workforce Elite. Most people still search for QuickBooks Payroll.

Can I buy QuickBooks Payroll without QuickBooks accounting?

Yes. Intuit lists payroll-only prices on a separate page from its payroll and accounting bundles. The main payroll pricing page leads with the bundles, which is why many people think accounting is required.

How much does QuickBooks charge to pay contractors?

Contractor Payments is $25 a month and includes 20 contractors, then $2 for each additional contractor. It e-files 1099s with the IRS. Intuit says extra fees may apply to print and mail copies to your contractors.