The short answer
- Simple: $49 a month + $6 per employee. One state only.
- Plus: $80 a month + $12 per employee. Needed for a second state; includes next-day pay and time tracking.
- Contractors only: $35 a month + $6 per contractor, billed only in months you pay them.
- If you need both next-day pay and time tracking, Plus costs less than Simple with add-ons from 6 people.
What Gusto costs at 1, 5 and 10 people
| People paid | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | 1 | 5 | 10 |
| Simple $49 a month + $6 per employee States: One only | $55 | $79 | $109 |
| Plus $80 a month + $12 per employee States: Any number | $92 | $140 | $200 |
| Premium $180 a month + $22 per employee States: Any number | $202 | $290 | $400 |
Monthly cost at the regular price, one state, employees only. From Gusto's pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026.
The per-person fee applies to employees and to US contractors in months you pay them. Gusto says it charges only for active employees, so a seasonal worker you don’t pay in a month doesn’t cost you that month.
When Simple stops being enough
Simple is the cheapest way into Gusto, but three needs push you up:
- A second state. Simple covers one state. Any employee in another state means Plus, at $80 a month + $12 per employee.
- Next-day pay. On Simple it’s an add-on at $15 a month plus $3 per person. Plus includes it.
- Time tracking. On Simple it’s $6 per person a month after a free trial. Plus includes it.
What that means in dollars:
| Team | Simple | Simple + next-day | Simple + next-day + time tracking | Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 people | $67 | $91 | $109 | $116 |
| 5 people | $79 | $109 | $139 | $140 |
| 10 people | $109 | $154 | $214 | $200 |
With one add-on, Simple stays cheaper at every team size. With both, Plus wins from 6 people. If you have staff in two states, the choice is made for you.
Paying contractors only
| Contractors paid | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan | 3 | 10 | 25 |
| Contractor Only $35 a month + $6 per contractor | $53 | $95 | $185 |
Monthly cost at the regular price, contractors only. From Gusto's pricing page, checked Oct 22, 2026.
Gusto shows this plan’s price in its page data rather than on the main plan cards, and links to it as “contractor only”. You pay only in months you pay someone.
Gusto’s extra fees
| Extra | What it costs |
|---|---|
| State tax registration (new state) | Not published source |
| Time & Attendance Plus (Simple plan) | $6 per person per month source |
| Next-day pay (Simple plan) | $15 + $3 per person per month source |
| Same-day pay (Simple, Plus) | $90 per payroll source |
| Instant pay (Simple, Plus) | $100 per payroll source |
| Priority Support (Simple, Plus) | $30 + $3 per person per month source |
| Gusto Business Compliance (per state) | $85 per month, per state, annual contract source |
| Keep your own health broker | $6 per month, per eligible employee source |
| Global contractor payment | $5 per payment (to US-based bank accounts) source |
| Remote I-9 | $20 per submission source |
Two to watch: same-day and instant pay are charged per payroll, so they add up fast if you use them every pay period, and new-state tax registration has no published price.
Gusto: the terms beside the price
Visit Gusto- Contract
- Month-to-month source
- Cost to cancel
- None source
- Setup fee
- None source
- Minimums
- Not stated on its pricing page
- Extra payroll runs
- No extra charge source
- Direct deposit speed
- Next-day on Plus/Premium; add-on on Simple. Same-day and instant: Premium or per-payroll fee. source
- Support
- Basic: 24/7 help centre, phone/chat in business hours (hours not stated). Premium: dedicated account partner. source
Gusto next to the two cheapest options
Gusto next to the two cheapest options
For your team, at regular prices
- 1.GustoSimple$948 a year$79 a month
How we got this
- Base fee (monthly)$49
- 5 employees x $6 (monthly)$30
- 2.Patriot PayrollFull Service Payroll$744 a year$62 a month
How we got this
- Base fee (monthly)$37
- 5 employees x $5 (monthly)$25
Promotion: 30-day free trial, then 50% off for 3 months (no end date published)
Who: Not stated beyond new customers.
After: The regular price above. Not included in the totals above.
- 3.Roll by ADPRoll$768 a year$64 a month
How we got this
- Base fee (monthly)$39
- 5 employees x $5 (monthly)$25
Promotion: 3 months free (no end date published)
Who: US businesses that have never used Roll by ADP. Cancel during the trial and you lose the rest of it.
After: The regular price above. Not included in the totals above.
Fine-tune
Paying every 2 weeks? Gusto, OnPay, Roll by ADP, SurePayroll (by Paychex), Patriot Payroll, Square Payroll say payroll runs are unlimited, so how often you pay doesn't change their price. RUN Powered by ADP says its fees rise with how often you run payroll. The others don't say.
Yearly total = 12 months of fees plus fees billed once a year. Taxes and wages are not included: this is what the payroll service charges. Prices from each provider's own page, checked Oct 20, 2026.
Who Gusto suits, and who should skip it
A good fit if you have a small team in one state and want month-to-month payroll with health benefits administration at no extra cost when Gusto is your broker. Unlimited payroll runs mean bonuses and corrections cost nothing extra.
Look elsewhere if your team is spread across states but small: Gusto charges Plus prices for that, while OnPay, Roll by ADP and Square Payroll include more states on their standard plan. Also look elsewhere if you need same-day pay every payroll on a budget.
Compare with QuickBooks Payroll pricing, ADP payroll pricing, or every payroll service side by side.
Get told when Gusto's fees change
Providers change fees with little notice. Alerts start soon, and we'll send nothing else.
Common questions
How much does Gusto cost per month?
Gusto's Simple plan is $49 a month plus $6 per person paid. Plus is $80 plus $12, and Premium is $180 plus $22. For 5 employees that is $79, $140 and $290 a month. A Contractor Only plan is $35 a month plus $6 per contractor.
Does Gusto charge per payroll run?
No. Gusto says every plan comes with unlimited payroll runs and it never charges extra for off-cycle payrolls. What can cost per payroll is speed: same-day pay is $90 per payroll and instant pay $100 per payroll on Simple and Plus. Both are included on Premium.
Can I use Gusto Simple in more than one state?
No. Gusto describes Simple as basic payroll in one state. Multi-state payroll comes with Plus and Premium. Registering for payroll taxes in a new state is a separate service, and Gusto says its price varies by state.
Does Gusto have a contract or setup fee?
No. Gusto's pricing page says it is month to month, account setup is free, and you can switch or cancel anytime. You are only charged for active employees, and contractors only in months you pay them.