Skip to content
Honest Fees

Rippling pricing: what will you actually pay?

Rippling shows a starting price and quotes the rest. Here is exactly what it publishes, what to ask for in a quote, and what payroll costs where the price is public.

Updated Oct 23 · Ian Chang · We may earn a fee i

Updated October 23, 2026 How we check prices Published by Ian Chang We may earn a fee from some providers. It never changes the prices we show or what we recommend. How we rank

The short answer

  • Published: plans start at $8 per employee a month, plus a monthly base fee.
  • Not published: the base fee, and the price of each product, payroll included. Everything past the starting price is a custom quote.
  • For 10 people: the starting price alone is $80 a month before the base fee. The cheapest payroll with a public price that files your taxes, Patriot Payroll, is $87 a month in total.

From Rippling’s own pricing page, checked Oct 23, 2026 ↗. Comparison: one state, regular prices.

Promotion, not the regular price: Free for 6 months. Who: Eligible US startups backed by venture capital. Ends: no end date published. After: Your quoted price (Rippling publishes no base fee). Offer terms

What Rippling publishes, word for word

Rippling’s pricing page has no plan cards and no calculator. It has a quote form and this answer to “How much does Rippling cost?”:

Rippling plans start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee. Your total cost depends on the products and services you choose. Contact us for a custom quote based on your company's needs.

It explains the model in one more line: “Rippling's pricing depends on the products you select and the number of employees you have. Most products are priced per employee per month, while some may include a monthly base fee.”

And for payroll on its own, it gives no number: “Rippling Payroll pricing depends on the number of employees and the products and services you select.”

So the one figure is $8 per employee per month, and it is a starting price. Rippling does not say which products that price covers, or what the base fee is. We don’t guess either one.

What sets a Rippling quote

Rippling sells many products on one platform, and you pick which ones to pay for. Its product menu lists, among others:

  • Payroll: payroll, contractors, global payroll and employer of record.
  • HR: HR records, benefits administration, time and attendance, scheduling, recruiting, performance and learning tools, and a PEO.
  • IT: identity and access management, device management and inventory.

Per Rippling, most products are priced per employee per month and some add a monthly base fee. So your quote depends on which products you add and how many people you employ.

What the starting price alone comes to, before any base fee and before any product priced above the start:

Team$8 x people, a month
5 people$40
10 people$80
25 people$200

That is a floor, not a quote. It is our arithmetic on Rippling’s published starting price.

Payroll prices you can see, for 5 to 25 people

Before you take Rippling’s call, know what payroll costs where the price is public. Every service below files your payroll taxes for you, and each total includes its base fee:

Payroll services with public prices, monthly cost at the regular price, one state, employees only
Service and plan 5 peoplea month10 peoplea month25 peoplea month
Patriot Payroll ↗ Full Service Payroll
  • Each extra state: $12 a month
  • Basic Payroll: you file the taxes yourself
Promotion: 30-day free trial, then 50% off for 3 months

Who: Not stated beyond new customers.

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above.

Offer terms
Visit Patriot Payroll
$62$744/yr $87$1,044/yr $162$1,944/yr
Roll by ADP ↗ Roll
Promotion: 3 months free

Who: US businesses that have never used Roll by ADP. Cancel during the trial and you lose the rest of it.

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above.

Offer terms
Visit Roll by ADP
$64$768/yr $89$1,068/yr $164$1,968/yr
Square Payroll ↗ Full-service payroll Visit Square Payroll $65$780/yr $95$1,140/yr $185$2,220/yr
Wave Payroll ↗ Wave Payroll (US)
  • Does not file 1099s for you
Visit Wave Payroll
$70$840/yr $100$1,200/yr $190$2,280/yr
SurePayroll (by Paychex) ↗ Small Business
  • More than one state: $9.99 a month
  • Year-end W-2 and 1099 forms: $50 + $5 per form, billed once a year
Promotion: Payroll fees free in months 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 (ends Oct 31, 2026)

Who: New clients who sign up during the offer. Year-end, multi-state and other fees are still charged.

After: The regular price above.

Offer terms
Visit SurePayroll (by Paychex)
$64$843/yr $99$1,288/yr $204$2,623/yr
Gusto ↗ Simple
  • Simple covers one state only
Visit Gusto
$79$948/yr $109$1,308/yr $199$2,388/yr
Homebase Payroll ↗ Payroll add-on (to any Homebase plan, incl. $0 Basic)
  • Requires a Homebase plan (the $0 Basic plan covers 1 location and up to 10 employees)
Promotion: 6 months of free payroll, then $29 a month + $6 per employee paid instead of $49 + $6 (ends Dec 15, 2026)

Who: Teams of 5 or fewer not already on a paid Homebase payroll plan, who finish payroll setup by Dec 15, 2026 and run a first payroll by Jan 20, 2027. Pay more than 5 people and the standard price applies.

After: $29 a month + $6 per employee paid while you pay 5 or fewer people; $49 + $6 otherwise.

Offer terms
Visit Homebase Payroll
$79$948/yr $109$1,308/yr $229$2,748/yr
OnPay ↗ Payroll Essentials
Promotion: One month free

Who: Not stated (offer terms not on the pricing page).

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above.

Offer terms
Visit OnPay
$79$948/yr $109$1,308/yr $199$2,388/yr
QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce) ↗ Workforce Payroll
  • State tax filing fee exists but is not published
Promotion: 50% off the monthly base price for the first 3 months (or a 30-day free trial instead)

Who: New QuickBooks Workforce subscriptions. Per-employee, per-contractor and state tax filing fees are not discounted.

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above ("the then-current price").

Offer terms
Visit QuickBooks Payroll (QuickBooks Workforce)
$85$1,020/yr $120$1,440/yr $225$2,700/yr
Justworks ↗ Payroll Visit Justworks $90$1,080/yr $130$1,560/yr $250$3,000/yr
Paycor ↗ Basic
  • Prices shown only after you fill in a contact form
Promotion: 50% off for 6 months, or 1 month of free payroll with setup fees waived (two offers shown)

Who: New customers ("Limited Time Offer for New Customers"); the terms behind the asterisk were not on the page.

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above.

Offer terms
Visit Paycor
$124$1,488/yr $149$1,788/yr $224$2,688/yr
Toast Payroll ↗ POS + Payroll bundle
  • Requires Toast POS
Promotion: $69 a month + $9 per employee for the POS + Payroll bundle

Who: New restaurants (the page does not define who counts).

Ends: no end date published.

After: The regular price above ($90 a month base); the page does not say whether the $9 per employee also changes.

Offer terms
Visit Toast Payroll
$135$1,620/yr $180$2,160/yr $315$3,780/yr
Paychex Flex ↗
  • One-year agreement; leaving early can cost you
Promotion: Pay nothing until April 2027 (up to 6 free months) (ends Oct 31, 2026)

Who: Clients who pick a qualifying Paychex bundle and sign a one-year service agreement. Leave within the year and Paychex can recover the free months.

After: Your quoted price (Paychex publishes none).

Offer terms
Visit Paychex Flex
Quote only. No price published.
Rippling ↗
Promotion: Free for 6 months

Who: Eligible US startups backed by venture capital.

Ends: no end date published.

After: Your quoted price (Rippling publishes no base fee).

Offer terms
Visit Rippling
Quote only. No price published.
RUN Powered by ADP ↗
  • W-2 and 1099 forms cost extra (amount not published)
  • Fees rise with how often you run payroll
Promotion: Up to 6 free months, applied to months 4, 5, 6, 13, 14 and 15 (ends Nov 26, 2026)

Who: New RUN clients who sign and start payroll by Nov 26, 2026 and keep running payroll for 3 months in a row. Essential Payroll clients who sign up online on their own get 3 free months.

After: Your quoted price (ADP publishes none).

Offer terms
Visit RUN Powered by ADP
Quote only. No price published.

Regular prices for one state, employees only, from each provider's own pricing page (checked Oct 20 to 23, 2026; ↗ opens it). Sorted by the yearly cost for 10 people, which adds fees billed once a year. "Not offered" means that plan does not cover that team size. Promotions are shown as a separate line and disappear when they end; tap one for its terms, including its end date or that none is published.

At 25 people, the $8 starting price alone ($200 a month) is more than the total monthly price of Patriot Payroll ($162), and Rippling's base fee still comes on top.

Price your exact team in the payroll cost calculator.

Who Rippling suits, and who should look elsewhere

A good fit if you want HR, IT and payroll in one system. Rippling says HR data such as new hires, salary changes and benefits deductions flows into payroll automatically, and it calculates and files payroll taxes with federal, state and local agencies. Rippling says you can add more products as you grow, and it sells global payroll for staff in other countries.

Look elsewhere if you are a small team that only needs payroll. You would be getting a quote for a platform when the services above publish a full price for payroll alone. Start with Gusto pricing, QuickBooks Payroll pricing or ADP payroll pricing, or compare every payroll service.

Rippling: the terms its pricing page doesn't state

Visit Rippling
Contract
Not stated on its pricing page
Cost to cancel
Not stated on its pricing page
Setup fee
Not stated on its pricing page
Minimums
Not stated on its pricing page
Extra payroll runs
Not stated on its pricing page
Direct deposit speed
Not stated on its pricing page
Support
Not stated on its pricing page

What to ask for in a Rippling quote

None of these are published, so ask for each one in writing:

  1. The monthly base fee, and whether it changes as you add products.
  2. The per-employee price of each product you’re quoted, payroll on its own line.
  3. Whether contractors are billed like employees, and in which months.
  4. The contract length, and what it costs to leave early.
  5. Any setup or implementation fee.
  6. What the price becomes after year one, or after any startup offer ends.

Then compare the total with the table above.

Get told when Rippling's fees change

Providers change fees with little notice. Alerts start soon, and we'll send nothing else.

Email me when a price on this page changes. From Honest Fees (SyncSpark Solutions Inc., hello@honestfees.ca). I can unsubscribe any time. Never sold. Privacy.

Common questions

How much does Rippling cost?

Rippling's pricing page says its plans start at $8 per employee per month, with a monthly base fee. It does not publish the base fee or the price of each product, so your total is a custom quote based on the products you choose and how many people you have.

How much does Rippling Payroll cost?

Rippling doesn't publish a payroll price. Its pricing page says payroll pricing depends on the number of employees and the products and services you select. The $8 per employee figure is the starting price for Rippling plans, not a stated price for payroll.

Is Rippling free for startups?

Rippling says eligible US startups backed by venture capital can get free access for 6 months. It says availability depends on your company's funding status and stage, so you have to contact Rippling to check.

Is there a cheaper option if I only need payroll?

Several payroll services publish their full price and file your taxes, including Gusto, QuickBooks Payroll, Roll by ADP and Patriot Payroll. This page prices them for 5, 10 and 25 employees so you can hold a Rippling quote against them.